The Clean Standard South Ocean Living The Clean Edit

Decor

Natural-Fiber Rugs, Considered

Wool, jute, sisal, seagrass, silk and cotton underfoot in a humid house: how each fiber behaves with damp and moths, what is on the back, what the labels mean when you look them up, and seven rugs from houses that say what they are made of.

Natural-Fiber Rugs, Considered

We choose from published evidence: makers' disclosures, certifiers' records, government and university guidance and reputable design coverage. We have not used, walked on or tested these rugs ourselves. This piece contains no affiliate links yet; when it does, they will be disclosed here.

Last checked: October 19, 2026. Fibers, construction, origin and prices were read on each maker's own site on that date, and certifications on the certifier's own records. Two of these houses do not show prices on their sites; where that is the case, we say so.

A rug is the largest piece of textile most of us live with, and in a South Florida house it lives in an unusual climate. The air conditioning runs most of the year, the air outside is wet, and a sliding door left open for an afternoon changes the room. A natural fiber will respond to all of that. Some fibers drink in moisture and stain if they dry slowly. Some are food for moths. All of them are only as clean as the backing, the dyes and the finish the maker chose, which is why we start with the fibers before we get to the picks.

The fibers, plainly

Rug fibers fall into two families. The Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI), the Government of Canada's conservation agency, puts it simply: cotton and flax (linen) are plant fibers made of cellulose, and silk and wool are protein fibers. It names hemp, jute, ramie, sisal and coir among the other cellulose fibers 2. The family tells you most of what you need to know about damp and pests.

Wool. A protein fiber, and in CCI's table it is weaker when wet. CCI warns that mildew will grow on wool stored in damp conditions, and that wool attracts the larvae of clothes moths and carpet beetles, "especially if it is soiled". Heat, moisture and friction together can make wool's scales interlock and cause irreversible matting and shrinkage 2. That is one reason to leave deep cleaning to a specialist. The makers add their own claims. The Rug Company says its Tibetan wool is rich in lanolin, which it says gives natural stain resistance 16. It also warns that too much water when spot cleaning can cause "browning", where oversaturated wool leaves a brown stain 17.

Jute, sisal and other plant fibers. These are cellulose. CCI's note describes cotton and flax in detail, but some of its warnings cover cellulose textiles in general, and they are the part to remember in Florida. Wetting and slow drying of cellulosic textiles leave a characteristic brown line stain, which is also an area of weakness. For cotton and flax, CCI adds that in warmth, high humidity and dirt, mildew and some bacteria can cause odors, stains and decay. The larvae of clothes moths and carpet beetles will not attack clean cellulose fibers, though CCI notes that dirt on textiles is food for most insects 2. The makers agree on water. Stark's care guide says of sisal, jute and abaca: "Never saturate your carpet with water or cleaner as this will stain the natural fibers" 22. Nanimarquina recommends jute for indoor use only 46.

Seagrass. Also a plant fiber, but neither CCI nor the other government and university sources we read cover it, so we have nothing independent to add about how it handles damp. Treat it as you would jute and sisal, and ask the maker.

Silk. A protein fiber. CCI gives silk good resistance to microorganisms, but says its deterioration is accelerated by heat and moisture. Sunlight yellows and degrades silk and wool, and silk is "particularly sensitive to ultraviolet radiation". Silk can be destroyed by carpet beetle larvae, and both silk and wool are particularly vulnerable to chlorine 2. In a room with west-facing glass, that matters. Fort Street Studio, which makes wild-silk rugs, tells owners never to steam-clean them, because steaming "will de-gum the silk and fade the colors" 39.

Cotton. A cellulose fiber, so CCI's notes on mildew in damp, dirty conditions apply 2. In luxury rugs you will most often meet cotton out of sight, as the warp and weft that hold a knotted pile, as in Fort Street Studio's Aura below 37, or as a small share of a blend, as in nanimarquina's Tres 43.

Humidity, mold and the Florida house

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) is direct about this: "The key to mold control is moisture control." It advises keeping indoor humidity below 60 percent, and ideally between 30 and 50 percent. It also advises drying water-damaged areas and items within 24 to 48 hours to prevent mold growth 1. Two more of its points apply to rugs in particular. Hidden mold can grow on the underside of carpets and pads. And absorbent materials such as carpet "may have to be thrown away if they become moldy", because mold in porous materials can be difficult or impossible to remove completely 1.

So the first decision is not which rug but which room. A plant-fiber rug is a poor match for a bathroom, a pool-house floor or a room you air out with the doors open. For any natural fiber, the steady dry air of a well-run air-conditioned room is the best ally, with a dehumidifier where the air conditioning alone does not keep the room under EPA's 60 percent 1. Our guide to dehumidifiers for coastal homes covers how to choose one. If a rug gets soaked in a storm or a leak, follow EPA's 24-to-48-hour rule 1 and see our guide to cleaning up mold after a storm. Some makers offer chemical protection treatments. Armadillo mentions an optional third-party treatment that it says protects against stains, mold, mildew and fading, applied after delivery; it does not name the treatment or its chemistry 27, and we make no claim for it. Merida, by contrast, says it strongly discourages chemical treatments, which it says can strip or damage natural fibers 35. If you are offered one, ask exactly what it is before you agree.

Moths, and what actually helps

Clothes moth larvae, explains the University of Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences (UF/IFAS), digest keratin, a principal protein in wool, fur and hair. They will also feed on lint, dust and materials soiled with oil 3. UF/IFAS calls good housekeeping "the most important method of clothes moth control", with the vacuum cleaner a good tool for removing woolen lint 3. The Rug Company says moths thrive in quiet places where damage can go unnoticed 17, and Armadillo advises keeping rugs out of dark places, such as tucked tightly under sofas 27.

On remedies, the makers disagree with one another. The Rug Company says mothballs should be avoided on rugs: it calls them ineffective and says they can sink into the fibers and cause damage when removed 17. Beni says mothballs are effective "though they carry a chemical scent", and suggests cedar blocks or lavender sachets when storing a rug 31. UF/IFAS is more measured on cedar. It says cedar protects stored items only if they are free of moths already, and that eastern red cedar oil kills only small larvae, not large ones 3. It notes that mothballs contain naphthalene and should be kept away from children and pets 3. It suggests pheromone traps for monitoring, and a pest control company for severe infestations 3. Our reading: vacuum the whole rug, front and back, regularly; move furniture now and then; and call a specialist cleaner at the first sign of damage, as The Rug Company advises 17.

What is on the back

A rug's construction decides whether there is a backing to worry about. Hand-knotted and flat-woven rugs are built on a warp and weft. Fort Street Studio's Aura has a cotton warp and weft 37, and Armadillo's Willow a linen warp 26. None of the makers of the knotted or woven picks below lists a glued backing on the pages we read. Tufted rugs are different. Nanimarquina describes hand tufting as threads injected into a fabric stretched on a frame 46, so the pile sits in a base cloth rather than being knotted into a warp. Natural-fiber carpet sold off the roll can carry a backing too. Stark sells its sisal Pecola either wall to wall or cut to a custom-sized rug 21, and it lists one 100 percent seagrass carpet, Comanche, in separate "Latex" and "Urethane" versions 2451. Its care guide warns that many carpets have a jute backing that can be sensitive to moisture 22.

The certification you will see for backed carpet is CRI Green Label Plus, which the Carpet and Rug Institute (CRI) calls the carpet industry's commitment to indoor air quality. CRI's Green Label programs test carpet, cushion and adhesives to identify products with very low emissions of volatile organic compounds (VOCs); Green Label Plus, launched in the 2000s, sets higher standards, and UL Solutions tests the samples 6. CRI lists each certificate by fiber and backing; The Rug Company's, for example, is for "Wool with SB Latex Unitary Backing" broadloom 7. If the rug you are considering is tufted or cut from broadloom, ask what the backing is made of. Ask, too, whether that backing is covered by an emissions certificate, and look the certificate up on CRI's list yourself.

Dyes

None of the seven makers below publishes the chemistry of its dyes. The language they do use is about craft rather than composition. Beni says it uses "the highest quality dyes available" 31. The Rug Company describes a Dye Master who blends and refines pigments, and yarns dried in the Kathmandu sun 19. Fort Street Studio speaks of "color-precise yarn dyeing" 37. Undyed fiber is the simplest answer for those who want one. Where a product-level ingredient disclosure exists, it is worth more than adjectives. The only one we could check for these picks is Armadillo's Declare label (below) 12.

The labels, looked up

We look up every certification on the certifier's own records, under the maker's name, and date the check. Here is what each label you are likely to meet actually covers, and what we found on October 19, 2026.

  • GoodWeave covers labor, not materials. GoodWeave calls its label "the best assurance no child, forced or bonded labor was used in the making of a certified product", and says each label has a unique code that can be traced back to the licensed producer 4. Labels go on individual products, so ask whether the rug you are buying carries one. Among our picks, The Rug Company says it is a GoodWeave licensee, and GoodWeave's finder listed the company (see pick 1) 515.
  • CRI Green Label Plus covers low VOC emissions from carpet, cushion and adhesives 6. The Rug Company holds GLP100716 for wool broadloom with a latex backing, valid until June 30, 2027 7. That certificate is for its broadloom carpet, not its hand-knotted rugs.
  • OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100 is, in OEKO-TEX's words, "a label for textiles tested for harmful substances", tested against a list of more than 1,000 8. None of the seven makers states OEKO-TEX certification on the product pages we read.
  • GREENGUARD Gold, from UL Solutions, is an emissions certification; UL says the Gold level "sets even lower VOC emission limits" than standard GREENGUARD 9. None of the seven makers states it on the product pages we read.
  • GOTS and Woolmark. GOTS (the Global Organic Textile Standard) covers organic fiber content and processing; see our Clean Standard. The Woolmark Company's label concerns wool. We could not reach the GOTS database or Woolmark's site on October 19, 2026. None of the seven makers claims either for the rugs below, so we make no claim.
  • Declare is an ingredient label from the International Living Future Institute (ILFI): manufacturers voluntarily disclose product information on Declare labels, kept in a free database 10. A label's "LBC Red List Free" status, in ILFI's wording, is measured against ILFI's Red List, which the Institute describes as chemicals representing the "worst in class" substances prevalent in the building industry 11.
  • B Corp is a company-level certification from the nonprofit B Lab, against its social, environmental and governance standards 13. It is not a statement about any one rug.

None of these labels is a safety guarantee, and we do not treat them as one. Each tells you one specific thing, checked by someone other than the maker.

How we chose

We looked for established houses that state, on their own sites, the fiber and construction of each rug and where it is made. Then we looked for independent coverage, and for certifications, which we checked on the certifier's own records on October 19, 2026. We could not read Elizabeth Eakins's site (it blocked our browser with a security check), so it does not appear. Jaipur Living now shows prices only to trade accounts, so we could not offer it as a better-value pick, and this edition has none. For coverage, Architectural Digest, Veranda, Elle Decor and House Beautiful were not reachable by our tools. We did not count Dezeen's paid "partnership content" as coverage. Where a claim is the maker's own, we say so.

The picks

1. The Rug Company, Raster Natural

Why it earns a place. A London house, founded in 1997 by Christopher and Suzanne Sharp, whose Holland Park showroom has been open since 1998 18. In Wallpaper* in October 2017, Pei-Ru Keh credited The Rug Company with championing fine raw materials and the quality of Nepalese weaving, and with recruiting designers from outside interiors, Paul Smith among them, to design rugs 20. Raster Natural is one of Paul Smith's designs, a graphic pattern in neutral tones 14. Fiber and construction. Hand-knotted New Zealand wool in the Tulu technique, with rows of cut pile and flatweave, according to The Rug Company 14. Backing: none stated (hand-knotted) 14. Origin. India 14. Certifications. The Rug Company calls itself "a key GoodWeave licensee" 15, and GoodWeave's own product finder listed the company when we checked on October 19, 2026 5. That is a company-level listing. The Raster page says the company is proud to support GoodWeave but does not say this rug carries the label, so ask for the label when you buy 14. Its CRI Green Label Plus certificate covers its latex-backed broadloom, not this rug 7. The Raster page states no other certification 14. Price. From around $2,400 at The Rug Company as of October 2026. That is the starting price; the site lists $100 per square foot. One 9-by-6-foot rug was in stock and other sizes were made to order in 16 to 22 weeks 14. Where to buy. The Rug Company's own site and showrooms, including its Holland Park showroom in London 18. It says it delivers to most national and international destinations 14. Who it suits. A living room that wants pattern from a designer, in wool. Keep water to a minimum when spot cleaning, as the maker advises 17.

2. Armadillo, Willow

Why it earns a place. The most fully disclosed rug in this guide, on the records we could check. Armadillo, a women-owned company founded in 2009 13, has a Declare ingredient label that we could look up and a company-level B Corp certification. Willow is, by Armadillo's account, among its best sellers 26. Fiber and construction. A hand-woven flat weave with a linen warp and a weft of blended wool and jute yarn, 3/16 inch (5 mm) high, with a loose fringe, according to Armadillo 26. Backing: none stated (flat weave) 26. Origin. India 26. The Declare label lists the assembly location as Bhadohi, Uttar Pradesh 12. Certifications. The Willow page links a Declare label for "Wool Jute Linen Warp Rug". On ILFI's Declare database that label (ACO-0022) is listed as "LBC Red List Free", published March 7, 2024 and valid until April 1, 2027 (checked October 19, 2026) 12. B Lab lists Armadillo & Co Pty Ltd as a Certified B Corporation since 2021; that is a company certification 13. The Willow page lists no product certification 26. Price. Around $1,450 at Armadillo as of October 2026 for 5 feet 7 inches by 7 feet 10 inches, listed as ready to ship 26. Where to buy. Armadillo's site and its ten showrooms, which include New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Dallas and London 28. Who it suits. A bedroom or living room in a well-dried, air-conditioned house, for a buyer who wants the plant-fiber look with an ingredient disclosure behind it. It is part jute, so keep it away from wet rooms 2.

3. Nanimarquina, Tres

Why it earns a place. A Barcelona house founded by Nani Marquina in 1987 4347, and a design it calls its bestseller 43. In Galerie in August 2022, Geoffrey Montes reported that nanimarquina's workshops are in India and Pakistan 48. Tres is a dhurrie made in three separately woven parts, so the construction shows on the surface 43. Fiber and construction. Hand-loomed dhurrie, 6 mm high: 49 percent New Zealand wool, 45 percent wool felt and 6 percent cotton, according to nanimarquina 43. Backing: none stated (flat weave) 43. Care: vacuum often, treat stains before they dry, and take it to a specialist dry cleaner if needed 43. Origin. Nanimarquina describes Tres as a traditional Indian flat-weave dhurrie and says all its rugs are produced in India and Pakistan 4345; the page does not say which country makes Tres. Certifications. None stated for this rug 43. Care & Fair, an initiative nanimarquina says works to eradicate illegal child labor 49, lists Nanimarquina S.L. among its members (checked October 19, 2026) 47. That is membership, not a product label. Price. Around $2,970 at nanimarquina's US store as of October 2026 for 5 feet 7 inches by 7 feet 10 inches; it was on sale at $2,376 when we checked on October 19, 2026 43. In Europe, around €3,005 for 200 by 300 cm, on sale at €2,404 when we checked 44. Sale prices change; confirm the price at checkout. Where to buy. Nanimarquina's US and EU online stores, its New York showroom at 907 Broadway 52, and selected retailers worldwide 4344. Who it suits. A dining room or a living room seating area, for a buyer who wants a flat, light rug in mostly wool, with prices shown in both the US and Europe.

4. Beni, Channel

Why it earns a place. A young Moroccan house with an unusually clear account of where it works. In Family Style in February 2026, Laura Neilson described Beni's 55-loom studio in Tameslouht, outside Marrakesh. She reported that its founders, Robert Wright and Tiberio Lobo-Navia, launched it in 2018, and that they pay wages well over twice the national average 32. Beni says it owns its weaving and washing facilities 30. Fiber and construction. 100 percent natural wool, made by hand, in Beni's standard Atlas pile averaging 1.25 inches, with tassels or a bound edge 29. Beni lists Atlas among its knotted constructions 31. Beni says its wool is "locally and humanely sourced in Morocco" 30. Dyes: Beni says it uses "the highest quality dyes available" and does not name them 31. Backing: none stated (hand-knotted) 29. Origin. Morocco 30. Certifications. None we could check. Beni says its rugs are woven "in fair-trade certified working conditions" 30. That is Beni's own claim: it names no certifier on the pages we read (checked October 19, 2026), and we could not check it, so we do not count it as a certification. Price. From around $775 at Beni as of October 2026; the 3-by-5-foot size in the standard Atlas pile showed $930. Beni says all orders are final and it does not accept returns 29. Where to buy. Beni's own site, which it calls its flagship store. Outside the US, Beni quotes orders delivery duty paid, with import taxes and duties included in the final price 30. Who it suits. A bedroom that wants a deep, soft pile. Beni's own storage advice is a breathable wrap, because tight sealed packaging can trap humidity 31.

5. Merida, Mere

Why it earns a place. An American workshop. Merida says all its rugs are woven and finished to order in its Fall River, Massachusetts workshop 50. In American Craft in May 2025, David Schimke described how the company moved from volume production to small-batch, handmade work. He reported that it was founded in Syracuse, New York, moved to Fall River in the mid-1990s, and has a team of 25 36. Fiber and construction. Mohair, wool and linen, dobby woven, according to Merida 33. Merida's yarn library lists sources such as New Zealand for its wools, Belgium for its linen and South Africa for its mohair 34; it does not say which yarns go into Mere. Backing: not stated 33. Origin. Fall River, Massachusetts 50. Certifications. None stated 33. Price. Not published on Merida's site (checked October 19, 2026); the page offers an "Inquire" button and a trade log-in 33. Where to buy. Contact Merida directly; its site also lists galleries in Boston and New York 50. We found no European stockist on its site. Who it suits. A buyer who wants a rug made in the United States, in a mix of animal and plant fibers. Merida's care advice is mild soap and water, blotted, and vacuuming with suction only 35.

6. Fort Street Studio, Aura Cream

Why it earns a place. The silk in this guide, from two painters turned rug makers. In Galerie in April 2021, Jill Sieracki wrote that founders Brad Davis and Janis Provisor, both painters with work in major museums, launched Fort Street Studio in the mid-1990s and helped redefine the industry with free-flowing, painterly forms 41. Business of Home reported in November 2025 that Stark had acquired the studio, with Fort Street's team staying on 42. Fiber and construction. 100 percent hand-knotted wild-silk pile on a 100 percent cotton warp and weft, 120 knots per line, 15 strands per knot and a 5/16-inch pile, according to Fort Street Studio 37. The silk is Dandong silk, which the studio says is harvested from the wild in oak forests in Northern China and is thicker and stronger than the domestic variety 38. Backing: none stated (hand-knotted on a cotton foundation) 37. Origin. The country of manufacture is not stated on the pages we read 3738. Certifications. None stated 37. Price. Not published on Fort Street Studio's site (checked October 19, 2026); request information from the studio 37. Where to buy. The New York showroom at 200 Lexington Avenue 40. We found no European showroom on its current site. Who it suits. A low-traffic room with filtered light. CCI notes silk's particular sensitivity to ultraviolet light 2, and the studio says never to steam-clean its wild silk 39.

7. Stark, Pecola

Why it earns a place. Sisal from a house founded in 1938 by Arthur and Nadia Stark, once open only to the trade 23, and a natural fiber with a Palm Beach pedigree. In Galerie's tour of the 2020 Kips Bay Decorator Show House Palm Beach, Jean Nayar noted "a white sisal rug by Stark" in Suzanne Kasler's room 25. Fiber and construction. 100 percent sisal, flatweave, machine-made on computer-controlled jacquard looms, 0.375-inch pile, from a roll 13 feet 2 inches wide, according to Stark. It is offered as wall-to-wall carpet or as a custom-sized rug 21. The page shows a serged edge for online orders and points to Stark's Fabrication Studio for other finishes 21. Backing: not stated on the product page, so ask 21. Origin. China 21. Certifications. None stated for this carpet 21. Stark does not appear among the companies on CRI's Green Label Plus carpet list (checked October 19, 2026) 53. Price. Custom sizes from around $1,225 at Stark as of October 2026; that is the starting price shown, and size and edge finish change it. A 9-by-9-inch sample was $10 21. Where to buy. Stark's site and its showrooms, which it says number more than thirty worldwide 23. Who it suits. A dry, air-conditioned living room or study that wants the classic coastal texture. Keep it away from spills and wet feet: Stark itself warns never to saturate sisal 22.

Skip these if...

  • The room gets wet. EPA advises drying water-damaged items within 24 to 48 hours, and says moldy carpet may have to be thrown away 1. Plant fibers stain when they dry slowly, and mildew grows on wool stored in damp conditions 2. Leave natural fibers out of bathrooms and pool houses.
  • You cannot keep the humidity down. EPA's target is below 60 percent, ideally 30 to 50 percent 1.
  • You want certainty about what is on the back. Ask the maker, and look up any emissions certificate on CRI's list yourself 67.
  • You want a labor label on the rug itself. Ask for the GoodWeave label and its code at purchase 4. A licensed company is not the same as a labelled rug.
  • You want to return it. Beni says all its orders are final 29, and Stark says its custom sizes cannot be returned unless damaged or defective 21; read the terms first.

Sources

Sources checked 2026-10-19.

  1. A Brief Guide to Mold, Moisture, and Your Home (U.S. Environmental Protection Agency)
  2. Natural Fibres, CCI Notes 13/11 (Canadian Conservation Institute, Government of Canada)
  3. Clothes Moths, ENY-223 (Vazquez, Koehler and Pereira, UF/IFAS Extension, revised August 2021)
  4. The GoodWeave Label (GoodWeave) Cited by name; we did not link goodweave.org because the site showed signs of compromise when we checked on October 19, 2026.
  5. Find GoodWeave Certified Products: search 'Rug Company' (GoodWeave) Cited by name; we did not link goodweave.org because the site showed signs of compromise when we checked on October 19, 2026.
  6. Green Label Plus (The Carpet and Rug Institute)
  7. GLP Certified Carpets: The Rug Company, GLP100716 (The Carpet and Rug Institute)
  8. OEKO-TEX STANDARD 100 (OEKO-TEX)
  9. UL GREENGUARD Certification (UL Solutions)
  10. Declare (International Living Future Institute)
  11. The Red List (International Living Future Institute)
  12. Declare label: Wool Jute Linen Warp Rug, Armadillo, ACO-0022 (International Living Future Institute)
  13. Armadillo & Co Pty Ltd, Certified B Corporation (B Lab)
  14. Raster Natural by Paul Smith (The Rug Company)
  15. Responsible Trading (The Rug Company)
  16. Fibers and Techniques (The Rug Company)
  17. Rug Care and Cleaning (The Rug Company)
  18. Our History (The Rug Company)
  19. Craftsmanship (The Rug Company)
  20. The Rug Company celebrates 20 years of creative ingenuity with new capsule collection (Wallpaper*, Pei-Ru Keh, October 19, 2017)
  21. Pecola (Stark)
  22. Care and Cleaning Guide (Stark)
  23. Stark home page: Three Generations, One Craft (Stark)
  24. Comanche (Latex) (Stark)
  25. Tour the 2020 Kips Bay Decorator Show House Palm Beach (Galerie, Jean Nayar, February 3, 2020)
  26. Willow (Armadillo)
  27. Care & Maintenance (Armadillo)
  28. Showrooms (Armadillo)
  29. Channel, Natural Wool + Taupe (Beni)
  30. FAQ (Beni)
  31. Care Guide (Beni)
  32. Laying It Down (Family Style, Laura Neilson, February 6, 2026)
  33. Mere (Merida)
  34. Yarns (Merida)
  35. Conservation (Merida)
  36. A Slow, Sustainable Yarn (American Craft, David Schimke, May 1, 2025)
  37. Aura Cream (Fort Street Studio)
  38. Materials (Fort Street Studio)
  39. Cleaning & Maintenance (Fort Street Studio)
  40. Contact (Fort Street Studio)
  41. Meet the Makers Behind Fort Street Studio's Painterly Collection of Rugs (Galerie, Jill Sieracki, April 16, 2021)
  42. Stark acquires Fort Street Studio (Business of Home, Fred Nicolaus, November 21, 2025)
  43. Tres Rug (nanimarquina, US store)
  44. Tres Rug (nanimarquina, EU store)
  45. FAQs (nanimarquina)
  46. Craftsmanship: fibers and techniques (nanimarquina)
  47. Members (Care & Fair)
  48. Artists Jaime Hayon and Claudia Valsells Create Dreamy Rugs for Nanimarquina (Galerie, Geoffrey Montes, August 21, 2022)
  49. Sustainability (nanimarquina)
  50. Merida home page (Merida)
  51. Comanche (Urethane) (Stark)
  52. Showroom NYC (nanimarquina)
  53. GLP Certified Carpets: company list (The Carpet and Rug Institute)

More to read

Clean Fragrance and Candles: The Luxury Edit

Guide

Clean Fragrance and Candles: The Luxury Edit

Disclosed waxes and wicks, and scents that know when to stop. What the word "fragrance" hides on a label in the US and Europe, what a candle maker can tell you and often doesn't, and five perfumes and candles from houses that show their work.

Clean Skincare Worth the Price

Guide

Clean Skincare Worth the Price

Six face-care formulas from houses that publish their full ingredient lists, from a $75 eye cream to a $315 jar. How to read a luxury ingredient list, what the seals on the box really certify, and why the price is never the proof.

Cookware, Considered

Guide

Cookware, Considered

Stainless, cast iron, enameled iron, carbon steel and ceramic, what each asks of the cook, and seven pieces from the great French, Belgian, Italian and American makers, with one better-value skillet.

Europe's Thermal Spas and Alpine Retreats

Guide

Europe's Thermal Spas and Alpine Retreats

Seven hotels, from the historic spring towns of Baden-Baden, Bad Ragaz, Évian and Saturnia to the high Alps, chosen for what they publish about their water, energy, kitchens and spas, with the seasons they keep and how to reach them.

How to Read a Beauty Label

Explainer

How to Read a Beauty Label

The ingredient list, the fine print and the seals: what each one is actually telling you, and what it isn't.

A Slow Week on Lake Como

Guide

A Slow Week on Lake Como

Seven unhurried days by boat and on foot: three lakeside hotels chosen for what they publish about their gardens, kitchens and spas, three historic gardens, MICHELIN-listed tables, and how to move, swim and boat safely on the lake.

Outdoor Furniture for Salt Air and Sun

Guide

Outdoor Furniture for Salt Air and Sun

Frames, fabrics and finishes that belong on a coastal terrace: teak and FSC, 316 versus 304 stainless, powder-coated aluminum, solution-dyed acrylic, woven fiber and quick-dry foam, with seven pieces from the great outdoor houses and what to do when a storm is coming.

A Clean-Luxury Weekend in Palm Beach

Guide

A Clean-Luxury Weekend in Palm Beach

Where to stay, eat, swim and walk over two unhurried days, chosen from what the island's hotels, kitchens and gardens publish about themselves.

The Clean-Luxury Hotels of Palm Beach County

Guide

The Clean-Luxury Hotels of Palm Beach County

Seven hotels from Jupiter to Boca Raton, chosen for what they publish about their spas, kitchens, water and footprint, and, where a hotel holds one, for the certification or verification we could confirm on the certifier's own records.

Weekly, free

The Clean Edit

One considered pick, one beautiful find, one Palm Beach moment and one good deal, every week.

No spam. Unsubscribe any time.